The Winternight Trilogy

“There are no monsters in the world, and no saints. Only infinite shades woven into the same tapestry, light and dark. One man’s monster is another man’s beloved” ~ The Winter of the Witch, written by Katherine Arden.

Occasionally I find a novel so enchanting I find myself completely immersed. The Winter of the Witch is the third novel in the Winternight Trilogy and was well worth the anticipation. I was transported to the ancient lands of Rus’ and the struggles of Vasya as she forges her own path, refusing to conform to convention.

Katherine Arden’s novels are captivatingly poetic. I loved all the novels in this trilogy I don’t think I can pick just one as my favorite. I loved The Bear and the Nightingale for this was the novel that first introduced me Vasya and the land of Chyerti and ancient Russian fairytales. I loved The Girl in The Tower for the simple pleasure of being able to read of Vasya’s adventures as she travels into the unknown and grows from a girl to a woman. Then finally there is The Winter of the Witch. This novel opened with so much sadness and degradation I felt completely heartbroken within the first thirty pages. I promise you however if you conquer the heartbreak after the first thirty pages and read on to the end you will end this wonderful trilogy with a smile and with a feel of complete satisfaction. Seriously if you haven’t read these novels yet get to your closest book store or library and start reading!!!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s